Call us today 01676 533 320

International shipping International shipping

Women’s Rugby World Cup | Ireland 2017

26th July 2017

We look ahead to the Women’s Rugby World Cup. It runs from August 9th to August 26th this year, with 12 competing nations.  As current holders the English ladies will look to replicate the form they showed three years ago in France to win back to back titles.

The tournament has come a little bit early this year as World Rugby have made the decision to host the tournament 3 years after the last. This is to avoid clashing with other premier sporting events. New Zealand, like their male counterparts, are the most successful team in the competition with 4 previous titles. The first Women’s World Cup was held in 1991 in Wales and has been hosted by Scotland, Netherlands, Spain, Canada, England and France since.

The Irish Rugby Football Union are the official hosts in 2017 and pool games will be held at UCD in Dublin before heading up to Queen’s University Belfast and the Kingspan in Belfast for the play off matches.

The teams are split into three pools before progressing into the play offs, including re-ranking play offs for those who don’t make it through to the semi-finals. England, holders and ranked number one in the world, have a largely full time, professional squad and head into the tournament as statistical favourites. They will be strongly challenged by the likes of New Zealand, Canada, USA and the hosts, Ireland. The latter clashed with England in a Grand Slam Showdown in this year’s Women’s Six Nations.

There are tickets available for the other games and also the playoffs, semis and final when the tournament moves to Belfast at ( and You can catch the action on television with ITV covering the tournament in the UK.


Akuma Rugby

SitemapTerms & ConditionsCookie PolicyPrivacy Policy
© 2018 Akuma Sports Ltd - All rights reserved.